Skip to content
Middelheimmuseum Logo

La rivière

1939 - 1943

Aristide Maillol

Writhing and twisting, arms tensed as if resisting great pressure, this woman personifies powerfully flowing water. She is close to the ground, hanging over the edge of the plinth: she is caught in the moment, losing control.

Details

  • Plan number: V13
  • Zone: Entanglement
  • Title: La rivière (The river)
  • Creator: Aristide Maillol , Fonderie Alexis Rudier
  • Production date: 1939 - 1943
  • Material: lead
  • Object number: MID.B.029

This fierce vividness contrasts sharply with Aristide Maillol’s earlier works. Not long before making this work, the artist still expressed a strong preference for serenity and calm in sculpture. 

Dina Vierney became the muse of the then 73-year-old artist at the age of 15, and was probably the model for this work. Yet this is not an individual portrait: Maillol created ideal images. With simplified, almost geometric body shapes, he has emphasized harmony and balance.

Maillol drew inspiration from classical Greek sculpture, in which allegories are an important motif. Human figures personify concepts such as virtues, but also natural elements, such as the seasons, a mountain range, or a river. In the first half of the 20th century, Western artists often made a link between impetuous nature and “untamed” women.

French artist Aristide Maillol studied painting, made book illustrations, and designed tapestries. As a sculptor, he started with terracotta. From 1900, he worked in wood, later with stone and bronze as well. He is known for his female nudes in a neoclassical style inspired by the idealized human figures of classical Greek sculpture.

From the same artist

Artwork Image

Aristide Maillol

This woman seems unaware of her surroundings. Lost in thought, she sits still, seemingly unmoved. It is difficult to know what is going on under the surface. Thus, she personifies the calm of a quasi-enclosed sea with almost no tides: the Mediterranean. Her seated pose, harmoniously based on triangles, emphasizes the sculpture’s tranquility.

This artwork on the map

Easily navigate to La rivière by Aristide Maillol and add it to your planned route.

Aller au contenu principal
Logo du musée Middelheim

La rivière

1939 - 1943

Aristide Maillol

Se tortillant, les bras tendus comme pour résister à une forte pression, cette femme incarne la force de l'eau qui coule. Elle est proche du sol, suspendue au bord du socle : elle est prise dans l'instant, perdant tout contrôle.

Détails

  • Numéro de plan: V13
  • Zone: Enchevêtrement
  • Titre: La rivière
  • Créateur: Aristide Maillol , Fonderie Alexis Rudier
  • Date de production: 1939 - 1943
  • Matériel: plomb
  • Numéro d'objet: MID.B.029

Cette vivacité farouche contraste avec les œuvres antérieures d'Aristide Maillol. Peu de temps avant de réaliser cette œuvre, l'artiste exprimait encore une forte préférence pour la sérénité et le calme dans les sculptures.
À 15 ans, Dina Vierney est devenue la muse de l'artiste, alors âgé de 73 ans, et c'est probablement elle qui a servi de modèle à cette œuvre. Il ne s'agit pourtant pas d'un portrait individuel : Maillol crée des représentations idéales. Avec des formes corporelles simplifiées, presque géométriques, il met l'accent sur l'harmonie et l'équilibre.

Maillol s'inspire de la sculpture grecque classique. Les allégories y sont un motif important : des figures humaines personnifient des concepts tels que les vertus, mais aussi des éléments de la nature tels que les saisons, une chaîne de montagnes ou une rivière. Dans la première moitié du XXe siècle, les artistes occidentaux associent souvent la nature tempétueuse aux femmes « indomptées ».

L'artiste français Aristide Maillol étudie la peinture, crée des illustrations de livres et conçoit des tapisseries. En tant que sculpteur, il commence par des sculptures en terre cuite. À partir de 1900, il travaille le bois, puis la pierre et le bronze. Il est connu pour ses nus féminins de style néoclassique, inspirés des figures humaines idéalisées de la sculpture grecque classique.

Du même artiste

Artwork Image

Aristide Maillol

Cette femme semble ignorer ce qui l'entoure. Introspective, elle reste assise, impassible. Nous ne découvrons pas facilement ce qui se passe sous la surface. Elle personnifie donc le calme d'une mer quasi fermée et presque sans marée : la Méditerranée. La position assise, équilibrée par des triangles, souligne la tranquillité de cette sculpture.

Cette œuvre d'art sur la carte

Naviguez facilement vers La rivière de Aristide Maillol et ajoutez-le à votre itinéraire planifié.